Skip the reading? Connect your stack and get a readiness score today. Plans from $79 a month, prices published.
Third-party risk management software pricing is almost entirely unpublished, with one significant exception: UpGuard lists Vendor Risk Standard at $1,750 a month billed annually for 50 vendors, plus $79 a month for each additional vendor. Vanta, Drata, OneTrust and ServiceNow all publish nothing for their third-party risk products, so the working number for most buyers comes from a quote scoped to vendor count. Complies takes the other approach and includes vendor risk in its published Growth plan at $199 a month.
That gap is why this search exists. Every roundup in the category promises a pricing comparison and then delivers a feature grid, because the writer could not get the numbers either. Below is what each vendor actually states in its own material, read first-hand in September 2026, plus the four variables that move the quote once you get on the call.
Third-party risk management software pricing compared
Everything in the price column was read off the vendor's own pricing or product page in September 2026. Where a vendor publishes nothing, the table says so rather than passing off a directory estimate as a list price.
| Product | What the price is metered on | Published price, September 2026 | Who it suits |
|---|---|---|---|
| UpGuard Vendor Risk | Number of vendors monitored, in tiers | Published: Standard $1,750 a month billed annually for 50 vendors, additional vendors $79 a month. Professional, Corporate and Enterprise+ are contact-us | Teams that want security ratings and continuous monitoring across a defined vendor count |
| Vanta TPRM | Not disclosed. Sold, in Vanta's own words, as a standalone product or as an add on to an existing Vanta plan | None published | Companies with vendor discovery and volume problems, especially existing Vanta customers |
| Drata Agentic TPRM | Not disclosed. The product page does not state whether it is separate or bundled | None published | Drata customers who want AI-assisted vendor assessment in the same platform |
| OneTrust Third-Party Management | Admin users and third-party inventory, which OneTrust does publish even though the rate is quote-only | None published. Vendr reported a median OneTrust contract of $11,970 a year across 307 purchases in February 2026, ranging from $1,620 to $48,230 | Larger organizations already buying privacy or governance modules from OneTrust |
| ServiceNow IRM | Product pack licensing on the Now Platform | None published | Enterprises already running ServiceNow with a staffed risk function |
| Complies | Flat plan, not per vendor and not per seat | Published: $79, $199 and $499 a month at the yearly rate. Vendor risk is included from Growth at $199 | Teams of 5 to 200 whose problem is a register going stale rather than vendor volume |
Two things stand out in that table. The first is that UpGuard's published figure is the only real anchor in the category, and it is worth using as one even if you never buy UpGuard, because it tells you what a monitoring-led product costs at 50 vendors. The second is the shape of its overage: $79 a month per extra vendor is $948 a year for a single supplier. Vendor count is not a rounding error in this category, it is the meter.
What actually drives the quote
Four variables do nearly all the work, and knowing them before the call is worth more than any feature comparison.
Vendor count. This is the dominant term almost everywhere. It also happens to be the number most buyers get wrong, usually low. Procurement knows about the vendors with contracts; nobody has a list of the tools a team expensed on a card. If you are about to be priced per vendor, it is worth pulling the real list from your cloud and SaaS spend data before you quote a number to a salesperson, because discovering another 40 vendors after signing is how a good price becomes a bad one at renewal.
Assessment volume. Some products meter the questionnaires you send or the vendor documents processed, rather than the vendors held. If you onboard in bursts, ask specifically what happens in a heavy quarter and whether unused capacity carries over.
Continuous monitoring. Security ratings and breach monitoring are the expensive half of this category, because the vendor is running scanning infrastructure against your suppliers every day. If you do not need that, saying so out loud removes the largest cost driver from the conversation.
Module packaging. The one that surprises people. On the compliance automation platforms, third-party risk is frequently not in the plan you already bought. Vanta states plainly that its TPRM is available standalone or as an add on. That means a company already paying for compliance automation can be looking at a second line item to do vendor reviews it assumed were covered, which is the single most common reason buyers land on a Vanta TPRM alternative comparison in the first place.
How much does TPRM software cost for a small company?
For a company with 20 to 60 vendors and no dedicated risk analyst, the realistic range is a few hundred dollars a month at the low end to roughly $20,000 a year once continuous monitoring is included. UpGuard's published $1,750 a month for 50 monitored vendors sits near the top of that range and buys real machinery. Complies includes vendor risk in a $199 a month plan and does not include monitoring, which is a legitimate trade at that size.
The honest framing is that most small companies are not failing at vendor risk because they cannot assess vendors. They are failing because the register was built during the last audit, the SOC 2 report on file expired eleven months ago, and nobody owns the renewal. That is a tracking problem, and tracking problems are cheap to fix. Discovery and monitoring problems are not.
Why do TPRM vendors not publish pricing?
Because the meter is vendor count and vendor count varies enormously between two companies of the same headcount. A 60 person agency might have 25 vendors; a 60 person fintech might have 300. A single published rate would either look absurd to the first buyer or leave money on the table with the second, so the category defaults to quotes. It is a rational commercial choice rather than a trick, but it has a real cost for the buyer: you cannot shortlist or budget without booking calls, and the first number you hear is anchored to what the seller has already learned about your size and your deadline.
Is third-party risk management included in Vanta or Drata?
Not necessarily, and this is worth confirming in writing before you assume it. Vanta's vendor risk page states the product is available as a standalone product or as an add on to your existing Vanta plan. Drata ships a product it calls Agentic TPRM, with AI criteria generation, vendor source sync, AI risk summaries, a risk register, a third-party directory and executive reporting, but its product page does not say whether that sits in every plan or is licensed separately, and it points to a plans page rather than a price. Neither publishes a figure. Ask the packaging question directly during the first call, because the answer changes your total by more than most feature differences will.
Do I need TPRM software to pass SOC 2?
No specific tool is required, but the underlying obligation is not optional. SOC 2 criterion CC9.2 expects you to assess and manage risks arising from vendors and business partners, and ISO 27001 covers the same ground in controls A.5.19 through A.5.22. What auditors sample is the artifact: a current SOC 2 report or certificate for each critical vendor, a completed security questionnaire, and a dated record of who reviewed it. A spreadsheet that is genuinely current passes. A well-configured platform whose reviews nobody completed does not. Our walkthrough of whether you need TPRM software covers where that break point usually falls.
What is a reasonable budget for a first vendor risk program?
Budget the software last. The first year of a vendor risk program is mostly scoping work: listing every third party, deciding which ones can reach production data or customer PII, and setting a review cadence per tier. That work is free and it determines everything else, including how large a plan you need. Teams that buy the platform first routinely pay for a 200 vendor tier and then discover that only nine vendors were ever going to matter.
A workable sequence looks like this. Build the register from spend and integration data. Tier it by data access rather than contract value. Collect the four artifacts that matter per critical vendor, being the SOC 2 report or ISO certificate, the security questionnaire, the certificate of insurance and the signed DPA. Then price tools against the register you actually have, not the one a discovery scan produced. The vendor risk assessment walkthrough covers the tiering step in detail.
Where the money goes if you skip the software
Doing this in a spreadsheet is genuinely viable below roughly 15 vendors, and pretending otherwise would be dishonest. Past about 30 the arithmetic changes, and not because assessments get harder. It changes because expiry tracking gets impossible to hold in a person's head, and the failure is silent: nothing breaks the day a vendor's SOC 2 report goes stale, which is precisely why nobody notices until an auditor pulls the sample. The cost of that failure is not the software you saved on, it is an audit finding and the scramble to re-collect a year of documents from suppliers who have no reason to hurry.
How to get a usable number in one call
Go in with four figures written down: your real vendor count, how many of those are critical, how many assessments you expect to run a year, and whether you need continuous monitoring. Ask for the price at your count and at double it, because that second number is your renewal exposure and it is rarely volunteered. Ask what the overage per additional vendor is, since UpGuard's published $79 a month shows how quickly that line grows. And ask whether third-party risk is included in the plan you already hold or sold separately, in writing.
If you want to skip the exercise, the two published options in this comparison are the fastest path to a number. For the wider category, our breakdown of compliance software pricing covers what the surrounding platforms cost, and vendor risk management software covers what the tooling actually does once you have chosen. Complies publishes its full range and includes vendor due diligence from the Growth plan, so you can see the number before you decide whether to spend a week collecting quotes.
RUN IT, NOT JUST READ IT
Turn this into tracked rows with owners
Everything in this guide becomes obligations, controls, and evidence with owners and due dates inside Complies, with a live readiness score on top. Plans from $79 a month, prices published.