Complies

VENDOR RISK · TPRM · PRICE PUBLISHED

Vanta TPRM alternative, Drata TPRM alternative and ServiceNow vendor risk alternative for teams of 5 to 200

Vanta sells third-party risk as a standalone product or an add-on to your existing plan. If you are searching for an alternative, you have probably just been quoted for that add-on.

See pricing

From $79/mo · Prices published · No sales call · Monthly billing

SOC 2 · TRUST SERVICES CRITERIA

Audit readiness

0 %

Your auditor makes the final call

Built for teams of 5 to 200

AWS GitHub Google Workspace Slack Jira Azure Okta
TPRM

What a Vanta TPRM alternative actually has to replace

The practical Vanta TPRM alternatives are Complies for teams of 5 to 200 that want vendor risk included in a published price, a dedicated third-party risk platform such as Whistic or Panorays if vendor risk is your whole program, and Drata or ServiceNow IRM if you are already committed to that platform. The reason people search for this specific phrase is narrower than a general Vanta comparison: Vanta states on its own vendor risk page that TPRM is available "as a standalone product or as an add on to your existing Vanta plan," so for most buyers it is a second line item on top of a compliance contract that was already quote-only. Nobody in this group publishes a rate, which is why the decision usually comes down to how much vendor risk machinery you actually need.

That distinction matters more than any feature grid, because the two halves of this market solve different problems. Vanta TPRM is built for discovery and monitoring at scale: it finds shadow IT you did not know you had, reads SOC 2 reports with AI to pull out risks, scores inherent risk, and watches the vendor landscape for breaches. Vanta publishes its own outcome claims for that work, including cutting risk assessment time by 50 percent and 62 percent faster vendor evidence collection. Drata takes the same shape under the name Agentic TPRM, with AI criteria generation, vendor source sync, AI risk summaries, a risk register, a third-party directory and executive reporting. Both are good products, and if you are onboarding vendors faster than a human can read their reports, that automation is worth paying for.

The other half of the market is the part most 5 to 200 person companies are actually failing at, and it is not discovery. It is that the vendor register was built once during the last audit, the SOC 2 report on file expired eleven months ago, nobody owns the renewal, and the DPA was never countersigned. Complies handles that half. One register with every vendor tiered by the data it can reach, the SOC 2 report, security questionnaire, certificate of insurance and signed DPA tracked per vendor with an owner and a renewal date, and a reminder before each one lapses rather than after your auditor asks. It is included from the Growth plan at $199 a month billed yearly, with prices published on the pricing page and monthly billing available.

Here is the honest boundary, stated before the tables rather than buried under them. Complies does not do automatic vendor discovery, it does not continuously monitor the internet for vendor breaches, and it does not use AI to extract findings from a SOC 2 report. A human on your team still reads the report and decides whether the vendor is acceptable. If those three capabilities are the reason you are shopping, Vanta TPRM is a better fit than we are and you should buy it. What changes with Complies is that the decision, the evidence behind it and the date it was made all live in one place, on a price you can read without a call.

Complies assists with compliance workflows. It is not legal advice, and it does not certify you or guarantee audit outcomes. Your auditor decides; Complies gets you ready.

Last updated September 2026

REGISTER · REVIEW · RENEW

The three jobs a vendor risk program has to do, and which one your current setup is dropping

01

Know every vendor and what it can reach

A register is only useful if it is tiered. A payroll processor holding employee data and an analytics widget on your marketing site are not the same risk and should not get the same review. Complies builds the register from the integrations you already connect and lets you tier each vendor by the data it touches, so review effort lands where the exposure is instead of being spread evenly across a list of 90 SaaS tools.

vendor due diligence software
02

Actually review the critical ones

For each vendor that matters you need a current SOC 2 report or ISO certificate, a completed security questionnaire, a certificate of insurance and a signed data processing agreement. Collecting those is not hard. Knowing which of your 40 vendors is missing which document, today, is the part spreadsheets lose. Every artifact carries an owner and a status you can filter.

risk register software
03

Catch the renewal before it lapses

This is where almost every program fails an audit. A SOC 2 report covers a fixed period and goes stale; a review done eighteen months ago is not a review. Each artifact carries a renewal date, and the owner is reminded before it expires, which turns third-party risk from an annual scramble into something that is simply current when someone asks.

obligation tracking software
COMPARE

Two kinds of third-party risk tool, and which problem each one is built for

Almost every roundup in this category grades tools on the same feature checklist, which hides the split that actually decides the purchase. One kind of tool is built to handle vendor volume: find the vendors, read their documents automatically, and watch them continuously. The other is built to keep a modest vendor set genuinely current and provable. Buying the wrong half is the common expensive mistake, and the honest answer for a 40 vendor company is usually not the one with more automation.

What you are buying Discovery and monitoring platform Enterprise IRM suite Complies
Typical examples Vanta TPRM, Drata Agentic TPRM, dedicated platforms like Whistic or Panorays ServiceNow IRM, Archer, MetricStream, LogicGate Complies vendor risk, included from the Growth plan
The problem it solves Too many vendors to assess by hand, and no visibility into shadow IT A risk function that has to roll third-party risk up into enterprise reporting A vendor register that goes stale between audits and has no owner
Vendor discovery Automatic, including tools nobody told you about Usually through integration with the enterprise service catalog Not automatic. You add vendors, seeded from the integrations you connect
Reading a SOC 2 report AI extracts risks and findings from the report for you Structured assessment workflow, typically staffed by an analyst A named human on your team reads it. The decision and date are recorded
Continuous breach monitoring Yes, part of the core pitch Often through a bolt-on threat intelligence feed No. This is a real gap and we are not going to pretend otherwise
Renewal and expiry chasing Yes Yes, once configured Yes, per artifact, with an owner and a reminder before it lapses
How it is packaged Vanta sells it standalone or as an add-on to your existing plan A product pack on a platform you are already licensing Included in Growth at $199 a month. No separate TPRM SKU
Pricing you can read today Quote only across the group Quote only, enterprise scale Published: $79, $199 and $499 a month at the yearly rate
Realistic time to a usable register Days to weeks, faster if discovery does the first pass An implementation project measured in months The same afternoon you sign up

Read the fourth and fifth rows before you read the price row. If you onboard vendors faster than a person can read their reports, or if a vendor breach reaching you first through the news is a genuine risk to your business, the discovery and monitoring column is worth its quote and Complies is not the right tool. The reason this page exists is that a lot of companies with 30 to 60 vendors are being sold that machinery to solve a problem they do not have, while the register they already own quietly goes out of date. Compare the compliance platforms behind these TPRM modules in detail on Vanta alternatives, Drata alternatives and ServiceNow GRC alternatives.

PACKAGING AND PRICE

How each vendor risk product is sold, read off each vendor's own material in September 2026

The question buyers ask us most about this category is not which tool has the best risk scoring. It is whether third-party risk is going to arrive as a separate line on the quote. Here is what each vendor states in its own material, read first-hand on September 4, 2026. Where a vendor publishes no figure we say so plainly instead of repeating a third-party estimate as if it were a rate card.

Product How third-party risk is packaged Published price for it What it is genuinely best at
Vanta TPRM Its own page states it is available as a standalone product or as an add-on to an existing Vanta plan None published Automatic vendor discovery, AI assessment of vendor documents, continuous monitoring. Vanta publishes claims of 50 percent faster risk assessments and 62 percent faster vendor evidence collection
Drata Agentic TPRM Presented as part of the platform. The page does not state whether it is a separate SKU, and points to a plans page rather than a price None published Agentic assessment: AI criteria generation, vendor source sync, AI risk summaries, risk register, third-party directory and executive reporting
ServiceNow IRM A product pack on the Now Platform, alongside Policy and Compliance, Risk, Audit and Business Continuity None published Rolling third-party risk into enterprise risk reporting for an organization already running ServiceNow with a staffed risk function
Dedicated TPRM platforms Sold as the whole product, not a module, so scoping is per vendor count or per assessment Generally none published Depth: questionnaire exchange, vendor-side portals and shared assessment libraries when vendor risk is your entire program
Complies Included in the Growth plan. There is no separate third-party risk SKU to negotiate Published: $199 a month at the yearly rate for Growth, $499 for Scale Keeping a 20 to 100 vendor register genuinely current: tiering, artifact tracking, owners, and renewals chased before they lapse

Two honest notes. First, none of these vendors except us publishes a number, so if you are budgeting for third-party risk you will be booking calls with everyone but Complies, and that is a fair criticism of the category rather than a marketing point. Second, the Drata row says the page does not state its packaging because it genuinely does not; we would rather leave a cell reading unknown than guess at a competitor's commercial model and be wrong.

CAPABILITIES

What you get when vendor risk is included instead of quoted

No second contract for third-party risk

Vendor risk is part of the Growth plan at $199 a month billed yearly. There is no TPRM add-on to scope, negotiate or renew separately, which for a small team removes an entire procurement cycle from a problem that is mostly administrative.

One register, tiered by what each vendor can reach

Vendors are scored by the data they touch rather than treated as one undifferentiated list, so the payroll processor gets a real annual review and the marketing widget gets a light one. Review effort follows exposure instead of alphabetical order.

Four artifacts tracked per vendor, each with an expiry

The SOC 2 report or ISO certificate, the security questionnaire, the certificate of insurance and the signed DPA. Each has an owner and a renewal date, so you can answer which vendors are currently out of date in one filter rather than one afternoon.

Vendor evidence that also counts toward your audit

SOC 2 criterion CC9.2 and ISO 27001 controls A.5.19 through A.5.22 both require third-party management. Because the vendor register sits in the same control library as the rest of your program, the evidence is collected once and satisfies both frameworks instead of being rebuilt per audit.

A dated record of the decision, not just the document

Auditors do not only ask whether you hold a vendor SOC 2 report. They ask who reviewed it and when. Every review records a named reviewer and a date, which is the specific thing a shared drive full of PDFs cannot produce.

A price you can read before a call

Starter $79, Growth $199, Scale $499 a month, published on the pricing page, monthly billing available. Everything else on this page is quote-only, which means a sales cycle before you can even find out whether it fits your budget.

HOW TO SWITCH

Moving vendor risk off a Vanta or Drata add-on without losing the history

01

Export the register you already have

Whatever tool holds your vendors today, get the list out with the tier, the owner and the dates. This is the asset worth keeping; the workflow around it is replaceable. If the register only exists as a spreadsheet from the last audit, that is normal and it is still the right starting point.

02

Re-tier by data access, not by spend

Most inherited registers are tiered by contract value, which is the wrong axis. Sort by what each vendor can actually reach: production data, employee data, customer PII, or nothing but your public marketing site. Usually a handful of vendors turn out to carry most of the real risk.

03

Load the artifacts and set real expiry dates

Attach the current SOC 2 report, questionnaire, insurance certificate and DPA per vendor, and set the renewal date from the document rather than from the anniversary of when you filed it. This step is where most programs discover that a third of their reports are already stale.

04

Hand each tier an owner and a cadence

Critical vendors annually, moderate every two years, low on renewal only. Each becomes an obligation with a named human and a due date, so the register stays current through the year instead of being reconstructed the month before fieldwork starts.

FIT

Who this is for, and who it is not

A GOOD FIT WHEN

  • You were quoted separately for Vanta TPRM or a comparable add-on and want the capability included instead.
  • You have roughly 20 to 100 vendors, a number a person can reason about, and no dedicated vendor risk analyst.
  • Your vendor register exists but is out of date, and nobody owns the renewals.
  • You need third-party evidence for SOC 2 CC9.2 or ISO 27001 A.5.19 to A.5.22 and want it in the same place as the rest of your controls.
  • You want to budget for vendor risk from a published price rather than a sales call.

LOOK ELSEWHERE WHEN

  • You need automatic vendor discovery to surface shadow IT nobody registered.
  • You need continuous monitoring that alerts you when a vendor is breached.
  • You want AI to read vendor SOC 2 reports and extract the findings for you.
  • Vendor risk is your entire program and you need questionnaire exchange with vendor-side portals at scale.
  • You already run ServiceNow with a staffed risk function and need third-party risk rolled into enterprise reporting.
QUESTIONS

Questions buyers ask when shopping for a Vanta TPRM alternative

Yes, in the sense that matters commercially. Vanta's own vendor risk page states the product is available as a standalone product or as an add-on to an existing Vanta plan. For a company already paying for Vanta compliance automation, that means third-party risk generally arrives as an additional line item rather than something included in the plan you already bought.

Vanta does not publish a price for it, or for anything else. There is no rate card on the vendor risk page and no figure on the pricing page, so the only way to get a number is a sales conversation scoped to your vendor count and existing contract. Complies publishes the whole range instead: $79, $199 and $499 a month, with vendor risk included from $199.

Vendor risk management usually means assessing and monitoring the suppliers you buy from, focused on security and data handling. Third-party risk management is the broader term, covering any external party you depend on, including partners, contractors, resellers and subprocessors, and often extending past security into financial, operational and regulatory risk. In most software you will find the two words used interchangeably.

Yes, and the honest comparison depends on vendor count. Complies includes vendor risk in the Growth plan at $199 a month billed yearly, published, with no separate TPRM contract. That is materially cheaper than a compliance platform plus a TPRM add-on. The trade is real: you do not get automatic discovery, continuous breach monitoring, or AI reading your vendor SOC 2 reports.

Drata ships a third-party risk product it calls Agentic TPRM, with AI criteria generation, vendor source sync, AI risk summaries, a risk register, a third-party directory and executive reporting. Its product page does not state whether that is included in every plan or sold separately, and it publishes no pricing, so confirm the packaging in writing before you assume it is bundled.

You can. Vanta explicitly sells its TPRM standalone, and dedicated platforms built only for third-party risk exist. Whether you should depends on overlap: if you are also running SOC 2 or ISO 27001, the vendor evidence is required by those frameworks anyway, so keeping it in the same control library avoids collecting it twice. Two tools means two registers that will drift apart.

There is no threshold in any framework, but the practical break point is around the time a spreadsheet stops being answerable. Below roughly 15 vendors most teams can genuinely stay current by hand. Past 30 the failure is never that a review was impossible, it is that nobody noticed a SOC 2 report expired, which is a tracking problem rather than an assessment problem.

No specific tool is required, but the requirement itself is not optional. SOC 2 criterion CC9.2 expects you to assess and manage risks from vendors and business partners, and ISO 27001 covers the same ground in A.5.19 through A.5.22. Auditors routinely raise findings for a critical vendor with no security review on file, so what you need is a documented, dated program, in whatever holds it.

For a team of 5 to 200 with a vendor register rather than a vendor problem, Complies is the one designed for that shape: vendor risk included from $199 a month at a published price, tiering, artifact tracking and renewals chased before they lapse. For teams whose real issue is vendor volume or shadow IT, the better alternatives are Vanta TPRM itself or a dedicated third-party risk platform.

Not if you export before you cancel. The parts worth preserving are the vendor list with tiers, the current artifacts, the renewal dates and the record of who reviewed what and when. All of that exports as data. What does not transfer is tool-specific scoring, which is usually worth rebuilding anyway because inherited risk scores are rarely tuned to how your own company uses each vendor.

GO DEEPER

Frameworks and guides

Get the vendor register current, without a second quote-only contract

Prices published, $79 to $499 a month. Monthly billing. Start today, no sales call.