ISO 27001 · SOFTWARE · WHAT IT COSTS
ISO 27001 software pricing: ISO 27001 compliance software cost per year, vendor by vendor
Most ISO 27001 platforms are quote-only. Two publish a real floor, brokered contract data covers the rest, and the certification audit is a separate bill from a different company. Here are all three numbers, each with a source and a date.
From $79/mo · Prices published · No sales call · Monthly billing
Audit readiness
0 %
Built for teams of 5 to 200
How much does ISO 27001 software cost per year?
ISO 27001 compliance software costs roughly $7,000 to $25,000 a year from the automation platforms most startups shortlist, and a few hundred dollars a month from tools that publish their prices. Only two vendors on a typical ISO shortlist print a figure: Secureframe lists its Fundamentals plan as "Starting at $7,000/year", and Hicomply lists Essentials at $6,995 a year and Professional at $13,995 a year. For the rest, the best benchmark is Vendr, which brokers real software contracts and reports medians of about $15,000 a year for Sprinto, $20,000 for Vanta and Secureframe, and $24,868 for Drata, as of February 2026.
Budget the software separately from the certificate, because they come from two different companies. The certification audit is billed by an accredited certification body, never by your software vendor, and 2026 guides put that fee for a US company under 50 people commonly between $5,000 and $15,000 for the initial stage 1 and stage 2 audits, with smaller surveillance audits in years two and three. A small company that signs a $20,000 platform is really committing to a first year closer to $30,000 before anyone has spent an hour on the work itself.
What moves the software number most is how many frameworks are in the contract, more than how many people you employ. Single-framework plans are the floor. Secureframe scopes Fundamentals to one framework, and Hicomply says each extra framework typically adds around £5,300 a year on its UK price list. If you need SOC 2 alongside ISO 27001, which most US SaaS companies selling to enterprise buyers eventually do, ask every vendor to price the two-framework version, because that is the contract you will actually sign.
Complies publishes its prices instead. ISO 27001 is included from the Growth plan at $199 a month billed yearly, which is $2,388 a year, with the Annex A controls cross-mapped against SOC 2, GDPR, HIPAA and PCI DSS in the same plan. That is not a discounted copy of the platforms above. It is a smaller product for a team that wants to run the program itself and hire its own auditor, and for that team it removes the sales call from the budgeting step entirely.
Complies assists with compliance workflows. It is not legal advice, and it does not certify you or guarantee audit outcomes. Your auditor decides; Complies gets you ready.
Three things that decide where your ISO 27001 software quote lands
How many frameworks end up in the contract
This is the biggest lever and the one buyers notice last. The published floors in this category are single-framework prices, so the number you see on a pricing page is rarely the number you sign. Decide before the first call whether SOC 2, HIPAA or GDPR belongs in year one, then ask for that exact scope. Frameworks added mid-contract are usually priced at list.
control mapping softwareWhether consulting, a pen test or the audit is bundled
Some ISO 27001 offers are software plus services. Scytale's startup plans pair one framework with a consulting plan and a penetration test, and several platforms introduce partner audit firms during onboarding. A bundle looks expensive next to a software-only line and cheap next to buying each piece separately, so split every quote into license, services and audit before you compare.
audit readiness softwareHow much of the evidence the tool collects for you
The cost that never appears on the invoice is staff time. A platform that pulls access lists, device settings and change history from your cloud and identity systems on a schedule saves hours every audit cycle, while one that stores uploaded screenshots saves almost none. Ask which of your systems connect natively, and price the gap in engineer hours.
automated evidence collectionISO 27001 software pricing, vendor by vendor
Two kinds of number sit in this table and they are not the same thing. A published price is what the vendor states on its own pricing page. A brokered median is what Vendr observed across contracts it negotiated, with a sample size where it discloses one. Where neither exists, the row says so instead of borrowing an unsourced estimate from a software directory.
| Platform | What the vendor publishes | Brokered benchmark | Frameworks in the entry price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Complies | $79, $199 and $499 a month billed yearly. ISO 27001 from Growth at $2,388 a year | Not a benchmark. This is the list price | ISO 27001 cross-mapped with SOC 2, GDPR, HIPAA and PCI DSS on Growth |
| Hicomply | Essentials $6,995 a year, Professional $13,995 a year | None published | One framework per plan. Extra frameworks around £5,300 a year each on the UK list |
| Secureframe | Fundamentals "Starting at $7,000/year". Complete and Defense are quote-only | Median about $20,000 a year, February 2026 | Fundamentals is scoped to one framework |
| Vanta | No price published | Median about $20,000 a year across 372 contracts, February 2026 | Not stated publicly |
| Drata | No price published | Median $24,868 a year, range $9,649 to $60,000, February 2026 | Not stated publicly |
| Sprinto | No price published | Median about $15,000 a year, February 2026 | Not stated publicly |
| Scytale | No price published. Startup plans bundle consulting and a pen test | None found | One framework on each startup plan, with add-ons |
| ISMS.online | No price published. Quotes are described as bespoke | None found | Chosen from 100+ frameworks, priced by quote |
Read the Complies row as a category difference rather than a discount. Several platforms above sell things we do not: Drata runs an auditor network, Scytale bundles consultants and a penetration test, and Secureframe leans toward a managed rollout. If you want someone else to drive the program, those services are what the extra money buys and they can be worth it. If you would rather run it yourself and bring your own certification body, the software line can be a few thousand dollars a year instead of twenty. Compare these platforms feature by feature on Hicomply alternatives, Scytale alternatives, Secureframe alternatives and Vanta alternatives.
What the ISO 27001 vendors actually publish, checked in September 2026
Software directories repeat price estimates with no source attached. These rows record what each vendor's own pricing page says when you open it, so you can tell a stated price from a guess before you plan a budget around one.
| Vendor page | What it says | Figure published | What that means for a buyer |
|---|---|---|---|
| secureframe.com/pricing | Three plans: Fundamentals, Complete and Defense | Fundamentals "Starting at $7,000/year". Nothing for the other two | A real floor for one framework. Adding SOC 2 or HIPAA moves you into a quote |
| hicomply.com plans page | Essentials and Professional, shown in GBP and USD, billed annually | $6,995 and $13,995 a year, or £5,300 and £10,600 | The only ISO-focused vendor here that prints both tiers. Extra frameworks cost more |
| isms.online/pricing | States that pricing is "bespoke to you" | None | Budgeting starts with a quote form and a call |
| scytale.ai/pricing | Build Starter, Build DFY, Build Stronger, Scale and Enterprise | None | Bundled consulting and pen testing make quotes hard to compare with software-only tools |
| Vendr buyer guides | Brokered contract medians with a refresh date, read September 2, 2026 | Vanta about $20,000, Drata $24,868, Sprinto about $15,000 | The only per-vendor numbers available for the quote-only platforms |
Two details worth knowing about the Hicomply row. Its pricing URL now opens a plans page, and its own FAQ states that "All prices shown are annual subscription fees", so $13,995 is a yearly figure rather than a one-off fee. Hicomply is a UK company, which is why its price list leads in pounds; the dollar figures are what it shows US visitors, and the per-framework add-on is quoted only in pounds.
What you get from Complies for ISO 27001, and what you give up
A price you can put in the budget today
Starter is $79 a month, Growth $199 and Scale $499 at the yearly rate, with monthly billing at $95, $239 and $599. ISO 27001 sits on Growth, so the software line for a year is $2,388. You can size the budget this afternoon instead of waiting on three discovery calls to learn whether a vendor is even in range.
The 93 Annex A controls, mapped once
Every ISO 27001:2022 Annex A control has an owner, a status and linked evidence. Because the controls are cross-mapped, a quarterly access review or a vendor assessment counts toward SOC 2, GDPR, HIPAA and PCI DSS at the same time rather than being logged five times.
A Statement of Applicability that stays current
Each control carries its inclusion or exclusion and the justification, and the Statement of Applicability updates as controls change. Auditors ask for this document first at stage 1, and a stale one is one of the most common reasons a first audit starts badly.
Internal audit and management review on a calendar
Clause 9.2 internal audits and Clause 9.3 management reviews become dated obligations with a named owner, chased before they slip. Small ISO programs rarely fail on missing intent; they fail on a review nobody scheduled.
Evidence that collects itself
Connect AWS, GitHub, Google Workspace or Okta and evidence is gathered on a schedule against the controls it proves. There is no implementation project, which matters when the person running ISO 27001 also has a day job.
What you give up, said plainly
No auditor network, no consultants and no penetration testing. Complies does not certify you and does not guarantee an audit outcome; you choose and pay an accredited certification body yourself. If you want a vendor to run the program with you, a bundled platform is the better buy.
How to price ISO 27001 software in a week instead of a quarter
Write down the framework list first
Decide whether year one is ISO 27001 alone or ISO 27001 plus SOC 2, HIPAA or GDPR. The published floors are single-framework prices, so an undefined scope produces quotes you cannot compare and a contract that grows at renewal.
Ask every vendor for the same three numbers
The annual license for ISO 27001 alone, the license with your second framework added, and the renewal uplift in writing. The uplift is the number most buyers forget and the one that hurts in year two, when switching has become expensive.
Get the certification body quote in parallel
The audit is priced in auditor days and is independent of your software choice. Ask two accredited bodies for stage 1, stage 2 and both surveillance audits, so the three-year cost of the certificate is on paper before you pick a platform.
Compare total year-one cost, not the license line
Add the software, the audit, any consultant, and the internal hours the tool will or will not save. A $2,400 tool that leaves you gathering screenshots and a $20,000 platform with a consultant attached can both be the right answer; the total tells you which one is right for you.
Who this is for, and who it is not
A GOOD FIT WHEN
- You need ISO 27001 for a customer or a contract and want a number before booking demos.
- You were quoted $15,000 to $25,000 and want to know whether that is normal for the category.
- You plan to run the ISMS yourself and hire your own accredited certification body.
- You will need SOC 2 or HIPAA as well and want one control set instead of two programs.
- You are a 5 to 200 person company and prefer monthly billing to an annual contract.
LOOK ELSEWHERE WHEN
- You want a consultant or the vendor to write and run the ISMS for you.
- You want the certification audit bundled into the software contract.
- You need penetration testing from the same vendor as your compliance tool.
- You need an EU data residency guarantee from your compliance platform.
- You need 100+ framework libraries, including niche national standards.
Questions buyers ask about ISO 27001 software pricing
Most ISO 27001 compliance platforms cost roughly $7,000 to $25,000 a year. Secureframe publishes a $7,000 a year floor for one framework, Hicomply lists $6,995 and $13,995 a year, and Vendr reports medians near $15,000 for Sprinto, $20,000 for Vanta and $24,868 for Drata as of February 2026. Complies includes ISO 27001 from $199 a month billed yearly.
The software covers the control library, the Statement of Applicability, policies, risk register, evidence collection and readiness tracking. The certification audit is always a separate fee paid to an accredited certification body, commonly $5,000 to $15,000 for a US company under 50 people, plus smaller surveillance audits in years two and three. Consultants and pen tests are extra unless bundled.
Very few. Among the common ISO 27001 vendors, Secureframe publishes a starting price for its Fundamentals plan, Hicomply publishes both of its tiers, and Complies publishes all three of its plans. Vanta, Drata, Sprinto, Scytale and ISMS.online are quote-only, so brokered contract data from Vendr is the only external benchmark for them.
For a US company under 50 people, 2026 guides put the full first year at roughly $15,000 to $50,000 including software, the certification audit, any consulting and staff time. The spread comes mostly from whether you hire a consultant and how large the scope is. A team that runs the program itself on published-price software sits near the bottom of that range.
Usually, for the ongoing work. A consultant is paid for the project and often again for each surveillance year, while software is a fixed annual line that keeps the controls, evidence and reviews on schedule between audits. Many small companies use both in year one, a consultant for the initial scoping and risk assessment and software for everything after it.
No. Certification must be performed by an independent, accredited certification body, so no software vendor can issue your certificate. Some platforms introduce partner audit firms or bundle services into a package, but the audit remains a separate engagement with its own fee. Complies does not certify companies; you choose your own certification body.
Framework count is the clearest driver in the published prices: Secureframe and Hicomply both price their entry plans for one framework and charge for more. Headcount and the number of connected systems also move quotes on the sales-led platforms, though none of them states a formula publicly. Ask for the per-framework split in writing.
On single-framework plans, adding SOC 2 means a second framework charge or a move to a higher tier; Hicomply quotes around £5,300 a year per extra framework on its UK list. Because SOC 2 and ISO 27001 share a large share of their controls, cross-mapped tools let the same evidence satisfy both. On Complies, both sit in the same Growth plan.
Yes, many small companies certify without a consultant when the platform provides policy templates, a guided risk assessment and scheduled evidence collection. You still need someone in-house who owns the ISMS, and you still pay a certification body for the audit. Software removes the coordination work, not the need for an accountable owner.
Frameworks and guides
ISO 27001 compliance software
SOC 2SOC 2 compliance software
ISO27001Best ISO 27001 Software: Audit and Compliance Tools Compared
ISO27001ISO 27001 Certification Cost: Full 2026 Breakdown
FRAMEWORKSSOC 2 or ISO 27001 First? How to Sequence Them
PRICINGHow Much Does Compliance Software Cost in 2026?
Map the Annex A controls this week, at a price you can read today
Prices published, $79 to $499 a month. Monthly billing. Start today, no sales call.